About the Program

The University of California, San Diego, with nearly $985 million in annual research funding, plays a leading role in stem cell research to help develop cures and therapies for a wide range of diseases and disorders utilizing pluripotent stem cell research.

Basic research is needed to use these cells to develop new therapies, and clinical translational research may bring our discoveries to patients in the clinic. In the years to come many people will have increased hope for their loved ones affected by a wide range of disorders because of the work of basic and physician scientists at UC San Diego and its partner institutions of the Sanford Consortium for Regenerative Medicine.

UC San Diego is committed to collaborating with other research institutions to maximize resources, facilitate research, and accelerate understanding of human health and disease.

Office of the Director

  • Larry Goldstein, PhD

    Larry Goldstein, PhD

    Director, UC San Diego Stem Cell Program
    Director, Sanford Stem Cell Clinical Center
    Scientific Director, Sanford Consortium for Regenerative Medicine
    lgoldstein@ucsd.edu

  • Alysson Muotri, PhD

    Alysson Muotri, PhD

    Co-Director, UC San Diego Stem Cell Program
    858-534-9320
    amuotri@ucsd.edu

  • Sylvia Evans, PhD

    Sylvia Evans, PhD

    Co-Director, UC San Diego Stem Cell Program
    858-822-2452
    syevans@ucsd.edu

  • Jake Banfield-Weir

    Jake Banfield-Weir

    Manager, UC San Diego Stem Cell Program
    858-822-3197
    jbanfieldweir@ucsd.edu 

  • Marci Murray

    Marci Murray

    Faculty Assistant, UC San Diego Stem Cell Program
    858-534-8510
    mjmurray@ucsd.edu

Stem Cell Genomics Core

  • Elsa Molina, PhD

    Elsa Molina, PhD

    Researcher, Stem Cell Genomics Core
    858-246-1446
    e6molina@ucsd.edu 

Human Embryonic Stem Cell Core Facility

  • Jesus Olvera, MS

    Jesus Olvera, MS

    Manager, Human Embryonic Stem Cell Core Facility
    858-822-3244
    jeolvera@ucsd.edu

  • Cody Fine

    Cody Fine

    Stem Cell Research Associate, Human Embryonic Stem Cell Core Facility
    858-822-3261
    cfine@ucsd.edu 

UC San Diego Stem Cell Program Student Workers

  • Sabrina Phan

    Sabrina Phan

    Student Assistant, UC San Diego Stem Cell Program
    858-822-6987
    s4phan@ucsd.edu