About the Program

The University of California, San Diego, with nearly $985 million in annual research funding, plays a leading role in stem cell research to help develop cures and therapies for a wide range of diseases and disorders utilizing pluripotent stem cell research.

Basic research is needed to use these cells to develop new therapies, and clinical translational research may bring our discoveries to patients in the clinic. In the years to come many people will have increased hope for their loved ones affected by a wide range of disorders because of the work of basic and physician scientists at UC San Diego and its partner institutions of the Sanford Consortium for Regenerative Medicine.

UC San Diego is committed to collaborating with other research institutions to maximize resources, facilitate research, and accelerate understanding of human health and disease.

Office of the Director

  • Larry Goldstein, PhD

    Larry Goldstein, PhD

    Director, UC San Diego Stem Cell Program
    Director, Sanford Stem Cell Clinical Center
    Scientific Director, Sanford Consortium for Regenerative Medicine

    E-mail: lgoldstein@ucsd.edu
    Mailing Address:
    9500 Gilman Drive #0695
    La Jolla, CA 92093-0695

  • Alysson Muotri, PhD

    Alysson Muotri, PhD

    Associate Co-Director, UC San Diego Stem Cell Program

    E-mail: amuotri@ucsd.edu
    Phone: (858) 534-9320
    Address:
    9500 Gilman Drive #0695
    La Jolla, CA 92093-0695
  • Sylvia Evans, PhD

    Sylvia Evans, PhD

    Associate Co-Director, UC San Diego Stem Cell Program

    E-mail: syevans@ucsd.edu
    Phone: (858) 822-2452
    Address:
    9500 Gilman Drive #0613C
    La Jolla, CA 92093-0613

Stem Cell Genomics Core

  • Sonal Naik, MBA

    Sonal Naik, MBA

    Director, Stem Cell Genomics Core

    E-mail: sonaik@ucsd.edu
    Phone: (858) 246-1446
    Fax: (858) 246-1489
    Mailing Address:
    9500 Gilman Drive #0695
    La Jolla, CA 92093-0695

Human Embryonic Stem Cell Core Facility

  • Jesus Olvera

    Jesus Olvera

    Staff Research Associate, Human Embryonic Stem Cell Core Facility


    E-mail: jeolvera@ucsd.edu 
    Phone: (858) 822-3244
    Mailing Address:
    9500 Gilman Drive #0695
    La Jolla, CA 92093-0695
  • Cody Fine

    Cody Fine

    Stem Cell Research Associate Technician, Human Embryonic Stem Cell Core Facility

    E-mail: cfine@ucsd.edu 
    Phone: (858) 822-3261
    Mailing Address:
    9500 Gilman Drive #0695
    La Jolla, CA 92093-0695

UC San Diego Stem Cell Program Student Workers

  • Ziyun Zou

    Ziyun Zou

    Student Assistant

    E-mail: z6zou@ucsd.edu 
    Phone: (858) 822-6987
    Mailing Address:
    9500 Gilman Drive #0695
    La Jolla, CA 92093-0695

  • Sabrina Phan

    Sabrina Phan

    Student Assistant

    E-mail: s4phan@ucsd.edu 
    Phone: (858) 822-6987
    Mailing Address:
    9500 Gilman Drive #0695
    La Jolla, CA 92093-0695